Surfers ear

Discussion in 'Surfing' started by cheyneskeezer, Aug 13, 2019.

1. cheyneskeezer

cheyneskeezer Well-Known Member

May 30, 2017
    Long Beach CA
    im at the point where every time I put my head under water I get major water in my left ear. Sometimes it takes 2 days to clear out and drives me nuts.

I’ve been told I have surfers ear by the doc but I’m reluctant to have the surgery. I’m 34 already suffer from hearing loss do to the loud nature of my work.

All of it’s preventative I know and I’ve been lazy in that obviously.

Any tricks to getting the water out of and when it gets in? It drives me nuts!

Time to start wearing my earplugs every time I paddle out.... another thing I’m Horrible at

2. Driftwood

Driftwood Well-Known Member

Dec 2, 2014
    France
    Ear plugs are your friend. Keeping the water out and the canal warmer are perfect as a starting point.

There are electric dryers that some swear by, but I have no experience with them. I do use one of those plastic bulbs - as much to get the air circulating as to remove the water directly. That works well on the rare occasions that I get water in my ear.

If you go to Sways, and look up the old recipe, there is a vinegar/alcohol mix that I use pretty religiously in the winter. There are a lot of sceptics, and I understand the reasoning, but the percentage of my canals that are blocked has actually reduced over the past decade.

Did the surgery at around 35 and didn't enjoy the process too much. But on the other hand, the auditive details of the world surrounding me were just amazing afterwards... there has been progress in the protocols so don't hesitate too much if it's actually needed!

3. SdSurferguy

SdSurferguy Well-Known Member

Oct 18, 2006
    USA
    Any particular reason why you are reluctant to do surgery?