Snowboard Advice

KDenning

May 14, 2015
Ventura, CA
Some of y'all might have caught that my wife and I moved away from Ventura and up to Lake Tahoe this year and we'll be picking up snowboarding.

Zero previous experience. Nada. Can't say I'm thrilled at the idea of learning how to do something new at age 30 but living in the mountains and not getting out there feels like a waste.

I've been surfing for almost two decades but never really took to short boarding - logged 95% of the time and dabbled in the mid length dark arts for a while so I'm not really looking for that "surf" feel that a lot of folks talk about. We've heard 50 - 50 feedback: "you'll pick it up right away, it's just like surfing" and "they're complete opposites, zero translation from one to the other."

Welcoming any and all advice!

KDenning

May 14, 2015
Ventura, CA
Do yourself a favor and invest in some lessons and skip the strugglers learning curve.

Have fun that sounds like a dream. Checkout Downeyville not too far from you in the summer for some really epic mountain biking too.
Getting lessons has been the only consistent piece of advice from others so far - we're definitely going to take advantage of getting lessons!

I taught surf lessons during high school and college and really think that makes the difference between the people that stick with surfing and the "I tried it a few times and never really got the hang of it" crowd.

Will definitely be spending some time around Downieville this summer! Looks like rad biking and an even more rad community of folks up there.

Old Dude

Oct 12, 2021
Germany
Well, I started snowboarding at the age of 40, after almost 25 years of skiing. I began surfing at 40 too. I think I’m a much better snowboarder than surfer, due to the ski and snow experience. My surfing is still late beginner or early intermediate level, because I only surf on vacation.