Noseriding Fin Question

RATZAX

Jun 7, 2010
I got back into surfing about 6 months ago after a long lay off.

I used to Noseride alot on my Hansen 50/50 and I am Noseriding now on My 9'6 Don Takayama In The Pink.

When I got the board it came with the three fins installed and I have been riding it that way for 6 months.

Getting to the nose is not a problem. I am just wondering if I should remove the side fins??

Will it trim easier w/o the side fins?

applekat

Jul 31, 2007
R...

for what THIS is worth...

(and mind you...i DONT get to the nose...)

(..this only get's better folks...)

but...

i had a 9'3 ITP..........................*coughsnortsurftech...it'strue*...

and i stuck a 9" MD3 on it and swiped off the bites....and...

well..it was--in my opinion--a TON more fun........it held well...oodles easier to turn--without feeling too too sloppy...

that's the best i can explain it.

at the very least...it made FL mush feel much much better...

mind you...lemme repeat...i DONT go to the nose...but from an amateurish perspective...simply put...it made it...well..."fun-ner".:D:D:D

either way...take 'em off.;)

dstud

Sep 7, 2007
I had a 9'6 ITP for a while. I took it to Costa and the 2+1 setup it came with *magically* disappeared out of my board bag behind the curtain in the Orlando airport. I through a 9" hatchet fin in it and hated it.

Its all personal preference in my opinion. I had no problem noseriding either setup but really preferred the 2+1. More pop off the bottom turns and a smoother overall feel to me (which is weird because I normally avoid 2+1 setups as much as possible). Try it both ways and you'll know!

applekat

Jul 31, 2007
dstud wrote:
I had a 9'6 ITP for a while. I took it to Costa and the 2+1 setup it came with *magically* disappeared out of my board bag behind the curtain in the Orlando airport. I through a 9" hatchet fin in it and hated it.