Looking for that power boost from within...

Thomas Morra

Sep 2, 2019
Rhode Island
As a fairly new but aging surfer (2.5 years @ ~50 years old), I’m still learning and hopefully growing in my surfing progression. Something I’ve found as I try to step down to smaller boards is that I am searching for paddle strength wherever I can get it. Lately I’ve discovered that although I’m physically at my limit with my shoulders, chest and arms, there is an untapped source of energy somewhere in my core to my sacrum. I was a sprinter when I was young, and the feeling is similar. Right when I need the extra boost I can feel it kinda welling up, but I haven’t been able to harness it.

I know it may just sound like hippie hogwash, so feel free to laugh & move on if so, but if you’ve experienced this and have any advice, please let me know. I think the secret may be relaxing more, but it’s always happening so fast... Thoughts?

Tom

(PS, I’m also aware that there is limitless room for improvement with my basic technique, but that’s for another discussion.)

shadydave

Mar 10, 2014
Ayer Ma USA
My only advice is to get the most out of your sessions. Ride the board that gives you the most confidence so you can push your limits on that board. There are plenty of guys that are much older than you that ride short boards but they most likely have been doing it a long time. Go out and have fun and ride what gives you the most enjoyment.

Bruce Fowler

Jul 28, 2018
California