Liddle L Spoon Thoughts

Discussion in 'Surfing' started by aloha73, Oct 5, 2019.

1. aloha73

aloha73 Active Member

Jun 19, 2004
    LA, CA
    Anyone riding a Liddle L Spoon? I picked one up last month (9'4) and am trying to wrap my head around it. Not a hull, not a log. Seems like it needs some juice to come alive. Slip slides a lot in the wave and is very loose off the tail. I'm not used to lighter longboards so it feels like it's not gliding like a lot of my other boards do. Would love to hear what others think of this model. I ride mostly point breaks in so cal.
    IMG_2232.jpeg

2. JMJackFish

JMJackFish Well-Known Member

Jul 5, 2016
    USA North Carolina
    Paging Chappy... He loves his. So do a few guys here in NC. My friend B had his out couple weeks back on a big day for here and that board was a rocket.

Andrew Johnson and DJR like this.
  3. garagefull

garagefull Active Member

Feb 22, 2004
    Santa Cruz
    I have no experience with the modern Liddle Designs L Spoons, but do a have a couple of 80's L Spoons. Yes, not a hull as I had no luck trying to drive thru turns with my front foot. Also not a log or noserider, I'd say they are turning longboards. And I think that fin size, style and placement matters a lot more on a turning board than a noserider. I had the opposite experience, I found both of mine to be too stiff for what I wanted to do. I replaced the standard stiff 9' fins with flex fins and that really helped a lot to loosen up the board. I tried various flex fins and kept moving them forward in the box. I ended up with a 4A all the way forward and that has been magic for me. If you find the board too loose, maybe try the opposite of what I did. I agree, they don't glide like a log, but they do glide much better than a Yater Spoon which has more nose rocker. And they do go better in more powerful waves.

4. aloha73

aloha73 Active Member

Jun 19, 2004
    LA, CA