Board Rental and recs on Oahu?

Skusty

Dec 14, 2020
Encinitas
Heyo! super stoked to be heading to oahu next month, i'll have 2 nights around diamond head and then head to the north shore for a week - hoping for swell but nothing crazy. does anyone here have experience renting boards on the island or have any recommendations? i'm imagining some kind of performance-y fish that feels somewhat familiar while being still performance-y enough to hold in some power, but as the trip approaches i should have a better idea of what the swell will be like

its the second leg of a trip to go see family in korea (south) so i wont be bringing a familiar board with me unfortunately

super stoked, and any recommendations are certainly welcome as this is my first time to oahu

cheers
sam

Gretsch

Aug 31, 2008
USA
I rented from Quality Surfboard Rental on Ala Moana Blvd. They hooked me up with a beautiful, heavily glassed single fin for cheap. They also allow trade-ins so if the swell changes or when you drive up to the North Shore you can switch out boards. Nice folks too.

Gretsch

Aug 31, 2008
USA
542CB6A1-AF95-4BD5-A6DD-2A7C2E6232F2.jpeg

Curlz

Jun 26, 2020
VA, USA
Quality surfboards! That was it. Sorry man… I got a bag from performance but quality is the shop I was thinking of for renting.

nedsurf

Jan 22, 2005
Good board rental suggestions. Along the similar lines, thinking about a trip to Waikiki (never stayed there in multiple trips to the islands, wife and I hanging out) and wondered if you all have a suggestions for a place to stay very near the beach, preferrably close to Queens so I can also do some mat surfing there while wife hangs on the beach. We don't plan to rent a car for the week, but if you have suggestions for a place to rent for a day or two would also appreciate that. Thought I should surf there at least once in my life, along with hundreds of my new best friends. Thanks.

nitsuj

Oct 3, 2005
An island somewhere