Spraypainting a Surfboard

Discussion in 'Surfing' started by joepoko, Apr 24, 2018.

1. joepoko

joepoko New Member

Feb 6, 2018
    Queens, NY
    So if I have an old board just sitting around looking for new life to be breathed into it, what's the best way about going about painting it? i've read a couple of tutorials online saying just to sand it, spray it, clear coat it, and rip it, but i dont know if any of you have had any experience with doing that first hand. essentially just taking an old yellowed log and painting it a golden color. I have acrylic paints that I could use currently.

Thanks for the help dudes.

2. SdSurferguy

SdSurferguy Well-Known Member

Oct 18, 2006
    USA
    I’ve had great success w Krylon spraypaint. Cheap and effective. Doesn’t require sanding. When it chips off just spray some more. I’ve been riding one board for 10 years w minimal wear.

dingdong likes this.
  3. 70s SanO

70s SanO Active Member

Feb 16, 2004
    USA California
    Our kids went through a phase of painting their boards years ago. They used the cheapest paint and did no prep. It chips, but I was amazed that it didn't peel.

They masked off different areas to make geometric designs and used multiple colors. Pretty cool.

John

4. joepoko

joepoko New Member

Feb 6, 2018
    Queens, NY
    i feel like i see that brand name pop up a lot. and i have to go to a michael's this coming week so that's even better. i'm just going solid with the design.

5. joepoko

joepoko New Member

Feb 6, 2018
    Queens, NY
    what about molotow paints? everything i read online on blogs plugs that brand name a whole bunch. are there certain paints that don't react well with the fiberglass resins?

6. JBorbone

JBorbone Active Member

Oct 18, 2017
    Belmar, NJ
    if you use an acrylic spray (Montana Cans) https://www.montana-cans.com you can then do a poly resin gloss-coat over it. then, it'll legitimately be part of the board and will never chip off.

7. joepoko

joepoko New Member