2nd attempt at making wood keels

Discussion in 'Surfing' started by Jmazz, Oct 15, 2018.

1. Jmazz

Jmazz Member

Jul 11, 2018
    Ny
    My 2nd attempt at fins,
    Single side foil, getting better. But still not perfect

Attached Files:

2. dingpatch

dingpatch Well-Known Member

Apr 2, 2014
    USA Florida
    It's a start, , , , , and looking pretty good! It took me a good while before I figured out how to eliminate my "short comings". The wood working is one thing, the glassing is a whole other world, , , , ,. I'm not a pro but I do OK, after about 500 fins. Now, it seems sort of funny when somebody asks me about a "technical" aspect they are having trouble with, and that I figured out, overcame, and now find trivial.

3. Jmazz

Jmazz Member

Jul 11, 2018
    Ny
    I actually find this therapeutic , I'd like to get good at it, would be great to have my fins on someone's board one day

dingpatch likes this.
  4. Chilly Willy

Chilly Willy Well-Known Member

Feb 15, 2004
    USA New Jersey
    Not bad! With wood keels (or other wood fins), do you usually use one layer of cloth to glass it, or do you have to lay up a ton of layers? I guess it depends on how the wood is shaped and how you want to attach it? Kind of answering my own question, but still curious.

5. Jmazz

Jmazz Member

Jul 11, 2018
    Ny
    I've seen vids where 2 to 3 layers of cloth is laid

6. dingpatch

Apr 2, 2014
    USA Florida